Advance Your Career with RAC-CT Workshops


LeaderStat is dedicated to helping healthcare professionals improve themselves. To this end we offer a lot of educational content in the form of industry articles and continuing education workshops. We are proud to offer Resident Assessment Coordinator-Certified Program (RAC-CT) Workshops through the American Association of Nurse Assessment Coordinators (AANAC). These workshops are excellent tools to use for advancing your career and becoming an expert in your field. According to AANAC, “RAC-CT is the distinguishing characteristic of an expert in resident assessment.” In fact, it is becoming more and more common for employers to look for candidates with this certification.


To attend a RAC-CT workshop you should have at least six months’ experience with the MDS/RAI process. These three-day workshops are taught by AANAC Master Teachers (such as Scott Heichel, LeaderStat’s Director of Clinical Reimbursement) and cover the following course material:  

  • MDS Coding for OBRA and PPS, parts 1 and 2
  • Managing PDPM in the SNF
  • OBRA Timing and Scheduling
  • Care Area Assessments
  • Introduction to Medicare Part A
  • Care Planning
  • Accurately Assessing Functional Status
  • Five-Star Quality Rating System
  • Quality Measures

Attendees will be immersed in clinical assessment and care planning, completion of MDS, and the regulatory body surrounding the RAI/MDS process. These workshops prepare healthcare professionals to:

  • Navigate tough coding dilemmas with the most current coding and regulatory knowledge 
  • Recover reimbursement and avoid over-payment by knowing where to find important MDS data 
  • Proactively solve quality pitfalls by recognizing the clues reflected in Quality Measure and Five Star reports 
  • Uncover unique solutions that honor resident preference by synthesizing MDS, CAA, and care plan data into individualized interventions 


Upon completion of the workshop attendees have access to online exams for each of the course areas. To earn the RAC-CT credential, you must successfully complete the ten associated exams with a score of 80% or higher (with three attempts per course), and re-certification is required every two years.

RAC-CT programs are reviewed and updated regularly, and distinguish certified individuals as valuable healthcare-industry assets. RAC-CT certification is the nationally recognized gold-standard in resident assessment. Certified individuals have shown their expertise in skilled-nursing facility prospective-payment system and minimum data set (MDS 3.0) assessment.  

LeaderStat will be presenting RAC-CT workshops all over the country this year. We would love to see you at one of them so you can become RAC-CT certified! Check out our schedule here.

Contact Us

LeaderStat specializes in interim leadership, executive recruitment, travel nursing, provider recruitment and consulting for healthcare organizations.